Categories
Autumn Creative Writing ellen degeneres family Halloween Life lifestyle mental illness performing social media supernatural This is 2017 Travel Uncategorized world problems young people

My Guide To Surviving the Performance Season.

Chills run down your spine as the voices from the crowd are carried through the show-cloth to where you are standing side-stage. You run through everything that you have been taught within the past month, each movement you have worked on, the endless hours of dedication that you have put in to get to this very moment. Mixed emotions mingle through the air as each member of the cast does their pre-show rituals but you know that as soon as the cloth is lifted and this unique world that you have helped to create is brought to life, a new sense of energy will break through and you will all share one feeling; euphoria.

Of course, to reach this nerve-wracking and rewarding time you have to be well…alive. How many of my readers have been to a live theatre show before such as a pantomime or something on Broadway? Do you remember that happy, peaceful feeling you had sitting in your chair expectantly? Many people don’t think about what is happening backstage and undoubtedly forget to take into consideration all the hours of hard work put in to bring them a 2-3 hour performance each night. As an actor, dancer and all-around performer, I know exactly how it is to be part of what seems like the never-ending rehearsals, I understand those moments when you just want to walk out and realise how important it is to keep every aspect of your health, both physical and mental, in check throughout it all. Here are some tips I have picked up from part-taking in my first pantomime and being in acting and dance shows throughout the past 2 years.

1. Less clutter makes the mind flutter; For those of us who are just starting off, we are not typically given the ‘best’ or the ‘biggest’ dressing room. In small theatres, changing rooms are tiny and though it may be bearable should you have one to yourself let’s face it, that never happens and therefore you find yourself in a room with 7 other people whom you may or may not like. With this comes everyone’s baggage and suddenly you can barely move or find anything. Scientists have proven that the less of a mess surrounding you, the more relaxed your mind is. Of course, not everyone is the neatest of people, especially in confined spaces but for yourself, the following things help keep your mind with at least a bit less clutter.

Your makeup: there is absolutely no logic in bringing the gigantic box of makeup you have filled to the brim girls (and boys). Limit yourself to one foundation, one eye palette, bronzer etc and keep them in a small wash bag. This can be stashed in a cupboard or just on top of a table, neatly placed to the side until needed.

Travel-size will save your sanity (and money); Hairspray, dry shampoo and setting spray, the three essentials for any production. Stocking up on mini-sized products is always the way to go; they take up less space and, depending on the brand, they lessen the weight on your wallet. Having miniature versions of makeup products can also be of a benefit as they free up space and hey, the less baggage the better!

Hangers, hangers, hangers (!!!); It may sound silly but trust me when I say that hangers are a treasured privilege in the world of performing. Do not rely on the sparse amount of hangers you are given by the costume department, buy your own or do what I do and reuse old ones! Ideally, you should have a hanger for each costume you have; in the production I am currently in I have 4 different outfits, therefore, I have four different hangers, all lined on top of each other in the order I will be wearing them. This really helps and definitely eases the stress on your mind knowing that everything is there and ready to go.

2. A happy body is a happy mindIt may seem like a no-brainer to accept a role in which you are needed to perform in 38-42 shows, but what is most important is to stop, breathe and think about how it is going to affect your health. What nutrients will your body need more of? How much of each layer of the food pyramid will it require? Which foods should you be cutting down on? Does your timetable allow space to eat comfortably and rest well? Are you being given the correct amount of days off? These are all questions that you must be able to answer before taking a step towards the spotlight. This is why before I agreed to audition for this year’s pantomime in the Everyman Theatre, I took a week to really think about what I was getting myself into. I had to be able to realise the hours I would be sacrificing, things that I could and couldn’t partake in etc. My solution was to write a pros and cons list and see which outweighed the other. Am I still cranky? Yes. Do I want to throw my curling wand in the bin? YES. Would I give anything to never have to wear red lipstick again? Definitely. But would I give it up? Not for the world. I recommend eating a lot of salads, nuts, fruit and protein and staying away from energy drinks. Of course, we are all human and never end up sticking to any sort of plan but trying to go by these guidelines will at least make you think you’re doing something better 😉

3. Doing what you love isn’t always going to make you happy, there are going to be days when you just want to walk out. But try to do something that makes you want to walk right back in when that moment is over. 

A very wise Jared Padalecki opened my mind to this idea. You could be doing something you are extremely passionate about and still have bad days. There will be times when you don’t want to show up, couldn’t be bothered with life and just feel down. Don’t rely on your performance/job to always keep you happy and in a positive state; we are human, we tend to feel different things at different stages and for no apparent reason. Personally, I tend to take at least an hour per day to be completely for myself; to take a step back, review my situation and be grateful but also to relax, do other things such as watch my favourite television show, catch up on YouTube or like I am doing now, write a new blog post. Here are a few things I have been loving and would recommend to anyone looking to unwind at any stage of the day:

1. Vlogmas: Christmas is coming and the majority of YouTubers are getting into the festive season and vlogging every day of their lives up until Christmas day. This may seem boring but trust me it’s not. I would definitely recommend watching Zoella‘s “24 days of Zoella.”

2. Meditation: Again I am going to share my love for the HeadSpace Meditation app. It is free for ten days and leaves you feeling calmer every time.

3. Music: Currently I have been enjoying Spotify’s RELAX playlist and also a lot of Sam Smith. I find his voice so gentle and relaxing.

There you have it! My tips on surviving any performance season! What do you guys think? Do you have anything to add? What works for you? Leave suggestions in the common and I’ll see you guys in my next blog post!

 

 

Leave a comment